20 Weeks, Anatomy Scan &…. Surprise!

For as long as I can remember, I had always imagined my first born as a little girl. So naturally, when I became pregnant I immediately thought we were having a girl, as did my husband and our friends and even our family too! (Basically everyone) So when we pulled  our “potty shots” out of the gender reveal envelope after our anatomy scan and saw a little penis and the words boy written below the picture, our whole world expanded that much bigger! Yes, we were shocked- but in a completely amazing and refreshing way! Finding out the gender brings so much more to the picture of this pregnancy and allowed us to fully engage envisioning our future life as a new mother and father. Since finding out we are having a son, J and I are feeling even more blessed than normal and I even went out and bought my first baby purchase since finding out we were pregnant!

 first outfit

 How far along: 20 Weeks and baby is the size of a Banana

 Total Weight Gain/Loss: 120 lbs- up another pound!

Maternity clothes: Yes and the cool weather is back so loving my maternity leggings (which I’ll probably wear for the rest of my life…shhh!) and the bump is definitely out for all to see.

Stretch marks: Not yet- but guess what is showing up? A very light version of the linea nigra!

Sleep: Well… still sleeping deeply but have been uncomfortable and apparently moaning and making odd noises in my sleep- oh and I started using a fluffy pillow between my legs and love the extra support.

Best moment last week: Finding out the gender!

Movement: Oh yes.. our little one is a little wiggle worm and I love feeling his movement

(eek- I said “his”!)

Food cravings/Aversions: Nothing that I have to have, but really enjoying food right now. Still no marina sauce or garlic or onions please!

Mood/Energy: Feeling happy and energetic for the most part.. some days when I have round ligament pains I need to rest and put my feet up, but for the most part I am feeling really well.

Labor signs: Not yet!

Belly button: Still in

What I miss: Nothing!

What I am looking forward to: Designing my nursery and starting home projects that I have been dreaming up, let the nesting begin! Or should I say continue… lets face it I have been “nesting” for years!

Milestones: Finding out our little miracle- baby -love- child is a son and the halfway point of pregnancy!

 And this is what 20 weeks looks like!

20 weeks

19 thoughts on “20 Weeks, Anatomy Scan &…. Surprise!

  1. I had always imagined a girl for myself too. It was so crazy how in one moment everything shifted & it all seemed right that we were having a boy. Congratulations to you!

  2. Hi new friend – Just hopped over to your blog and I see that you’re just like a week behind me!! And YEAH for boys… my first was a boy and now I’m having a girl! Hope you’re feeling great and wanted to let you know that I’ll be doing a giveaway to a super fabulous online maternity store here in a couple of months. Don’t miss out!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

